International Space Ops Exceptional Achievement Medal (EAM)

Award Criteria

This award is presented to give unique recognition to an individual who has distinguished himself or herself to the field of space operations and support. The recipient shall be an individual whose exceptional contributions were critical to the success of one or more space missions or who has made significant contributions to the field of space operations.

Award Description and Rewards

a. Medal with neck ribbon of purple and gold stripes (colors of royalty) separated by a black stripe (represents space); and a lapel pin of the medal. The medal shall be engraved on the reverse with the name of the recipient, and date of the award. The medal and lapel pin shall have a leather-like presentation case.

b. An 11” x 14” certificate (signed by SpaceOps Chair of the Conference and Awards Group Chair) shall be presented to the recipient. The certificate, on which is printed a citation of up to 25 words, shall be contained in a leather-like presentation folder.

c. The recipient shall be offered a complimentary full registration to the conference at which the award will be presented. If the recipient is unable to attend the conference, then this complimentary registration is not transferable.

d. A description of the award presentation and accomplishments of the awardee resulting in the award of the EAM shall be published in the Space Operations Communicator.

Specific Rules and Regulations

a. The SpaceOps Exceptional Achievement Medal shall be biennial and presented at the biennial SpaceOps Conference at an event involving the entire conference (such as plenary session or banquet).

b. Only one (1) award may be made biennially. No award needs to be made at any given conference.

c. Anyone may submit nominations for this award. Neither the nominator nor the nominated individual needs to be a member of SpaceOps or AIAA.

d. Only one candidate needs to be nominated via the AIAA/SpaceOps nomination process in order for the award to be presented.

e. Each nominator can nominate only one (1) recipient for the EAM, LAM or DSM.

f. Each endorser of a nomination can provide an endorsement for only one (1) EAM nomination.

g. No sitting member of the SpaceOps Executive Committee, Committee-at-Large, or Awards Group shall be eligible to receive the EAM.

h. Length of service to space operations shall not be a factor in the selection of candidates. This award is for a single achievement.

i. Qualified nominations shall be accepted in the year the nominations open, then carried over for two years to be included in the next nomination cycle if approved by a majority of the AG and upon confirmation by the nominator to the AG Chair, thus shall be considered for a total of three years. The nominator shall be given the opportunity to update the nomination package.

j. Awarding of the EAM, LAM, and DSM is mutually exclusive for the same recipient in the same award cycle. If nominations for more than one award are received, the AG shall decide which award is the most suitable for the recipient. However, the same recipient may receive.

Download International SpaceOps Exceptional Achievement Medal Nomination Form

Scroll to top